Know about UPSC.

UPSC ( Union Public Service Commission )is India’s premier central recruiting agency. It is responsible for appointments to and examinations for All India services and group A & group B of Central services. which was established on 1 October 1926 as Public Service Commission, it was later reconstituted as Federal Public Service Commission by the Government of India Act 1935. The agency’s charter is granted by Part XIV of the Constitution of India, titled Services Under the Union and the States. The commission is mandated by the Constitution for appointments to the services of the Union and All India Services. The commission reports directly to the President and can advise the Government through him.

The headquarter of Union Public Service Commission is at Dholpur House, in New Delhi and functions through its own secretariat. Arvind Saxena has been the Chairman of UPSC since June 2018.


  • Civil Services Examination (CSE).
  • Engineering Services Exam (IES).
  • Indian Forest Services Exam (IFoS).
  • Indian Economic Service and Indian Statistical Service Examination (IES/ISS).
  • Special Class Railway Apprentices Exam (SCRA).
  • Combined Defence Services Exam (CDS).
  • National Defence Academy and Naval Academy Exam (NDA and NA).
  • Combined Medical Services Examination (CMSE).
  • Combined Geo-Scientist and Geologist Examination.
  • Central Armed Police Forces Exam.

Education Qualification for UPSC Exam

As per the official UPSC Civil Services Exam 2019 Notification, the Educational Qualification required to appear in the UPSC Civil Services Exam is a Degree from any recognized university. Basic eligibility for UPSC exams is Graduation.

The candidate must hold a degree of any of Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a University Under Section-3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956, or possess an equivalent qualification.”

Eligible Age

A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on 1st August of the year of examination if he is a general category student/aspirant. The upper age limit for IAS as well as all services prescribed above is relaxed for OBC, SC, ST and other categories of aspirants.

UPSC age limit relaxation for OBC/SC/ST

  • Up to a maximum of five years if a candidate belongs to a Scheduled Caste (SC) or a Scheduled Tribe (ST).
  • Up to a maximum of three years in the case of candidates belonging to Other Backward Classes (OBC) who are eligible to avail of reservation applicable to such candidates.
  • Up to a maximum of five years if a candidate had ordinarily been domiciled in the State of Jammu & Kashmir during the period from the 1st January 1980 to the 31st December 1989.
  • Up to a maximum of three years in the case of Defence Services personnel disabled in operations during hostilities with any foreign country or in a disturbed area and released as a consequence thereof.
  • Up to a maximum of five years in the case of ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least five years Military Service as on 1st August and must have been released.
  • Up to a maximum of 10 years in the case of blind, deaf-mute and orthopedically handicapped persons.